Choosing an SL compatible laptop

Mariska Lysette

I've been looking at new laptops for using in SL and I remembered I used a lot of advice from the old SLU forums when I got my last laptop (and the one before that). I'm currently on a Dell laptop with i7 processor, dedicated graphics (Nvidia 820M) 8GB RAM but it's almost 5 years old and I'm starting to notice it's struggling at times.

I've done a fair bit of reading but I have no technical knowledge of my own. From what I've read it'd make sense to start with 16GB RAM and I know I need Nvidia graphics - I was thinking 1060 or above.

I'm currently looking at the following spec and wondered if anyone has any input? I suppose I'm most interested in whether this should last me SL wise for at least 3 years. Any advice or suggestions would be welcome. It does need to be a laptop for practical reasons. Thanks.

SPECIFICATIONDETAIL
Screen Size17.3"
Screen Type17.3" FHD (1920*1080), Anti-Glare, 100%sRGB
Screen Resolution1920*1080
BacklightLED
ProcessorIntel Core™ i7-9750H Hex Core Processor (2.6GHZ - 4.5GHz)
GraphicsNVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 Ti ,GDDR6 6GB
Storage256GB NVMe PCIe SSD
1TB HDD
Memory16GB DDR IV (2666MHz)
Operating SystemWindows®,10 Home
LanEthernet: Killer Gb LAN
Wireless: Intel Wireless-AC 9560 (2*2 a/c)
BluetoothBluetooth v5
USB Ports1x Type-C USB3.2 Gen2
2x Type-A USB3.2 Gen1
1x Type-A USB3.2 Gen2
Display Ports1 x HDMI 2.0 Port(s) (4K @ 60Hz)
1 x Mini-DisplayPort
Dimensions547mm,108mm,384mm
Weight2.9 kgs
Warranty2 Year
Extra FeaturesIntegrated 720p HD Webcam with Microphone, Single Colour Backlit Keyboard (Red), SD Card Reader

Thanks

Anya Ristow

Bernie Bro
SL Rez
Joined SLU
Nov 2007
SLU Posts